Sri D.V.Sadananda Gowda

D V Sadananda Gowda



Devaragunda Venkappa Sadananda Gowda (born 18 March 1953), is an Indian politician who served as the union Minister of Chemicals and Fertilizers of India in the Second Modi ministry from 14 November 2018 to 7 July 2021. He also Served as the Minister of Statistics and Programme Implementation of India from 5 July 2016 to 24 May 2019 in the First Modi ministry. He is representing the Bangalore North constituency. He also held Ministry of Railways and other cabinet positions in the First Modi ministry. He also served as the 20th Chief Minister of Karnataka.

He previously served as the Minister of Law and Justice, having been shifted from the Ministry of Railways in the cabinet reshuffle of 5 July 2016.  At the end of the previous Lok Sabha, he was the Minister of Statistics and Program Implementation. He then stepped down from his post of Minister of Chemicals and Fertilizers ahead of the cabinet reshuffle in July 2021.

  • 1983–1988 State Secretary, BJP Yuva Morcha Karnataka
  • 1994–2004 Member, Karnataka Legislative Assembly (two terms)
  • 1995–1996 Member, Cell for preparing Draft Bill on Prohibiting atrocities on Women, Government of Karnataka
  • 1999–2004 Deputy Leader of Opposition, Karnataka Legislative Assembly
  • 1999–2001 Member, Committee on Commerce
  • 2001–2002 Member, Committee for Energy, Fuel & Power, Karnataka Legislative Assembly
  • 2002–2003 Member, Public Undertaking Committee, Karnataka Legislative Assembly
  • 2003–2004 President, Public Accounts Committee, Karnataka Legislative Assembly
  • 2004 Elected to 14th Lok Sabha
  • 2006–2010 State President, BJP, Karnataka
  • 2006–2009 Member, Committee on Commerce
  • 2006–onwards Member, Sub-committee of the Department Related Parliamentary standing Committee on Commerce for Special Economic Zones
  • 2009 Elected to 15th Lok Sabha
  • 2011–2012 Elected as 20th Chief Minister of Karnataka
  • 2013 Elected as the leader of opposition of Karnataka Legislative Council
  • 2014 Elected to 16th Lok Sabha from Bangalore North and took oath as Central Railway Minister
  • 2015–2016 Cabinet Minister-Law & justice
  • 2016– Minister of Statistics and Programme Implementation
  • 2019–2021 Elected to 17th Lok Sabha from Bangalore North and took oath as Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers


He began his political career as a member of the Jan Sangh. He was President of the party's Sulya Assembly segment. After the split of the Janata Party, he became a member of the BJP. Later on, he served the BJP as Dakshina Kannada BJP Yuva Morcha President, Dakshina Kannada BJP Vice-president, State BJP Yuva Morcha Secretary (1983–88), State BJP Secretary (2003–04) and National Secretary of the party (2004).


Karnataka Legislative Assembly


Sadananda Gowda was elected to the Karnataka Legislative Assembly in 1994 and 1999 from the Puttur Assembly seat in Dakshina Kannada. He became Deputy Leader of the Opposition in his second term as MLA. He has served in various committees of the Karnataka State legislature including the Cell for preparing Draft Bill on prohibiting Atrocities on Women, Karnataka, the Committee of Energy, Fuel, and Power, and the Committee for Public Undertaking. He was nominated as the President of the Public Accounts Committee in 2003.


Lok Sabha



Chief Minister Of Karnataka


  • Sadananda Gowda was chosen as the Chief Minister of Karnataka in August 2011. Handpicked by Yeddyurappa, he was the second ethnic Tuluva Chief Minister of Karnataka after Veerappa Moily. He introduced various schemes such as Sakaala, aimed at providing time-bound services at government offices.
  • May 2013 elections, BJP elected DV Sadananda Gowda as the opposition leader of legislative council in Karnataka
  • D.V. Sadananda Gowda taking charge as the Union Minister for Railways, in New Delhi on 27 May 2014
  • On 26 May 2014, Sadananda Gowda was sworn in as a cabinet minister in Prime Minister Narendra Modi's newly elected government. He was put in charge of the Ministry of Railways. He presented his maiden budget on 8 July 2014.


Cabinet Minister in Modi’s Second Term Government


            On 30 May 2019, Sadananda Gowda was sworn in as a cabinet minister in Prime Minister Narendra Modi's second term government. He is put in charge of the Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers. He then stepped down from his post of Minister of Chemicals and Fertilizers as directed by the prime minister ahead of the cabinet reshuffle in July 2021.