Sri Jagadish Shettar

Sri Jagadish Shivappa Shettar 


Shettar was born on 17 December 1955 in Kerur village of Badami Taluk in Bagalkote district (formerly Bijapur district)Karnataka. His father is Sri. S.S. Shettar and his mother is Smt. Basavenamma. His father, S.S. Shettar, a senior activist of the Jana Sangh, was elected five times to the Hubli-Dharwad Municipal Corporation and became the first Jana Sangh Mayor of Hubli-Dharwad. His uncle Sadashiv Shettar was the first Jana Sangh leader in South India to get elected to the Karnataka Legislative Assembly. He was elected from Hubli City in 1967. Shettar holds BCom and LLB degrees and was a practicing lawyer for 20 years at the Hubli Bar. He married Smt. Shilpa and the couple have 2 sons - Prashant and Sankalp. He belongs to banajiga sub-sect of Lingayat community.

Sri Jagadish Shivappa Shettar (born 17 December 1955) is an Indian politician belonging to Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), who served as the 21st Chief Minister of Karnatakafrom 2012 to 2013.

He has subsequently served as Leader of the Opposition in the Karnataka Legislative Assembly. Earlier, he was the Speaker of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly during 2008–2009. Currently he represents Hubli-Dharwad Central Vidhan Sabha seat.

On 20 August 2019 he was inducted as the Cabinet Minister for Large and medium scale industries excluding sugar and Public Enterprise department in the BJP Government led by B.S. Yediyurappa.  In 2008, following the BJP victory in Karnataka assembly elections, Shettar was unanimously elected as the Speaker of the Karnataka legislative assembly. However, he resigned from this post in 2009 and was inducted into the cabinet of B.S. Yeddyurappa as Minister for Rural

The BJP High Command agreed to make Jagadish Shivappa Shettar the Chief Minister. He was sworn in on 12 July 2012.

2013 Assembly elections

Ahead of assembly polls which were held in May 2013, BJP declared Shettar as its Chief Ministerial candidate for Karnataka state. He submitted his resignation to the Governor of Karnataka on 8 May 2013 Post elections. Jagdish Shettar was elected as the leader of BJP's legislative party and Leader of opposition in Karnataka Legislative Assembly.